From the WireNovels

4-STAR REVIEW: CRY WOLF by Lark O. Jensen

In the captivating mystery novel, “Cry Wolf” by Lark O. Jensen, join tour guide Stacie Calder as she takes on a seasonal job at the Juneau Wildlife World in Alaska. With winter closing in, Stacie is prepared for a peaceful season with the wolves and her husky companion, Sasha. However, when a manager is found brutally murdered, Stacie becomes the prime suspect and embarks on her own investigation to clear her name. Filled with suspense, intriguing characters, and an Alaskan setting, “Cry Wolf” is a must-read for fans of thrilling cozy mysteries.

4-STAR REVIEW: CRY WOLF by Lark O. Jensen

This image is property of novelsalive.com.

Overview

An Alaska Untamed Mystery: Book 2

Publication Date: November 7, 2023

In this article, we will be delving into the second book of the “An Alaska Untamed Mystery” series by Lark O. Jensen, titled “Cry Wolf.” Published on November 7, 2023, this gripping murder mystery is perfect for fans of Paige Shelton. We will provide a comprehensive summary of the plot, introduce the main character, and discuss the intriguing murder mystery at the heart of the story. Additionally, we will explore the suspects and investigation, as well as the danger and suspense that keeps readers on the edge of their seats.

Moving on to the review section, we will share our opinion on the plot and mystery, commenting on the world-building and attention to detail in the story. We will evaluate the resolution of the mystery and share our thoughts on the well-crafted characters that populate the narrative.

For those interested in purchasing the book, we will provide convenient buy links to major retailers such as Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iBooks, Kobo, and Goodreads. Readers will have easy access to purchase the book from their preferred platform.

Next, we will introduce readers to the author, Lark O. Jensen. We will provide a brief overview of her previous works, highlighting her accomplishments as a writer. Additionally, we will discuss Linda O. Johnston, the pseudonym under which Jensen writes. We will delve into Jensen’s writing style and the recurring themes that can be found in her books.

To keep readers informed, we will share the blog tour schedule for “Cry Wolf.” This schedule will include guest posts, reviews, interviews, spotlights, and character interviews hosted by various blogs. Readers can follow along the tour and gain more insights into the book and the author’s inspiration.

In the conclusion section, we will share our final thoughts on “Cry Wolf” by Lark O. Jensen. We will provide a recommendation for wildlife or Alaska-loving cozy readers, highlighting why this book is a must-read for those who enjoy thrilling mysteries set in the untamed wilderness.

Summary

Introduction to the plot

In “Cry Wolf,” the second book in the “An Alaska Untamed Mystery” series, we are introduced to Stacie Calder, an Alaskan tour guide who finds herself confronted with a chilling murder mystery. With boat tours closed for the winter, Stacie takes a seasonal job at the Juneau Wildlife World, a wildlife sanctuary. She is joined by her trusted husky companion, Sasha, as they prepare to spend the winter in the scenic park. However, not everyone welcomes their presence, particularly Stacie’s new manager, Oliver Brownling. When Oliver is found brutally mauled in a part of the sanctuary with wolves, it becomes clear that a human was responsible for his murder. Stacie, encouraged by her friend Liam Amaruq, an officer with the Alaskan State Troopers, takes it upon herself to uncover the truth behind the murder.

Description of the main character

Stacie Calder, the main character of “Cry Wolf,” is a resilient and determined woman. With her background as an Alaskan tour guide, Stacie is no stranger to adventure and the wild beauty of her surroundings. She is accompanied by her loyal husky companion, Sasha, who plays a pivotal role in the story. Stacie’s resourcefulness and love for animals drive her to investigate the murder and clear her name. Readers will find themselves invested in Stacie’s journey as she navigates the dangerous and suspenseful world of the wildlife sanctuary.

Introduction to the murder mystery

The murder of Stacie’s manager, Oliver Brownling, sets the stage for the gripping murder mystery in “Cry Wolf.” As it becomes evident that a human is responsible for the brutal crime, suspicion falls on Stacie. With a long list of suspects, including the sanctuary director, Oliver’s coworkers, and even newer employees, Stacie must unravel the truth while weathering a worsening storm. The stakes are high as the killer remains at large, and Stacie’s life is in danger. The thrilling murder mystery keeps readers on the edge of their seats, eager to uncover the truth.

Suspects and investigation

Stacie’s investigation leads her to compile a long list of suspects. The sanctuary director, coworkers of Oliver, and even the newer employees come under scrutiny as Stacie tries to uncover the truth. Each suspect has their own motive, and Stacie must navigate through the intricate web of relationships and hidden tensions. Guided by her friend Liam Amaruq, Stacie employs her resourcefulness and keen observation skills to move closer to solving the murder. The investigation is filled with twists and turns, keeping readers engrossed in the story.

Danger and suspense

As Stacie and Sasha are stranded at the sanctuary due to the worsening weather, the danger intensifies. The killer is still at large, and Stacie becomes the hunted. The suspense builds as Stacie fights against the elements and navigates the treacherous landscape of the wildlife sanctuary. Readers will feel the tension and fear as Stacie races against time to apprehend the murderer before it’s too late.

4-STAR REVIEW: CRY WOLF by Lark O. Jensen

This image is property of novelsalive.com.

Review

Opinion on the plot and mystery

In “Cry Wolf,” Lark O. Jensen delivers a compelling and engaging plot. The murder mystery is well-crafted, with enough suspense and twists to keep readers guessing. The Alaskan setting adds an extra layer of intrigue and danger, creating a captivating atmosphere throughout the story. The plot moves at a steady pace, building anticipation as Stacie delves deeper into the mystery. Overall, the plot of “Cry Wolf” is a captivating and satisfying read.

Comments on the world-building and details

While the world-building in “Cry Wolf” is immersive and vivid, some of the details regarding Stacie’s routines and interactions with Sasha may feel repetitive or unnecessary to some readers. However, these minor quibbles do not detract from the overall enjoyment of the story. Jensen’s descriptions of the Alaskan wilderness and the wildlife sanctuary are rich and transportive, adding depth to the narrative. The attention to detail creates a realistic and believable world that readers can fully immerse themselves in.

Evaluation of the resolution

The resolution of the mystery in “Cry Wolf” is well-executed and satisfying. As Stacie uncovers the truth and confronts the killer, readers will be on the edge of their seats. The culmination of the investigation ties up loose ends and provides a sense of closure. The resolution is convincing and leaves readers feeling fulfilled, knowing that justice has been served.

Thoughts on the characters

The characters in “Cry Wolf” are well-developed and likable. Stacie Calder is a strong and relatable protagonist, and her bond with her husky companion Sasha adds an endearing element to the story. The supporting characters, such as Liam Amaruq and the other employees of the wildlife sanctuary, are also well-drawn and complement the narrative. Jensen’s skill in creating realistic and engaging characters shines through, making readers emotionally invested in their fates.

Buy Links

To purchase “Cry Wolf” by Lark O. Jensen, you can find it on the following platforms:

These links will allow readers to easily and conveniently purchase the book from their preferred retailer.

About the Author

Introduction to Lark O. Jensen

Lark O. Jensen is the pseudonym of Linda O. Johnston, a former lawyer turned full-time writer. Jensen has written multiple mystery series, including the “An Alaska Untamed Mystery” series. With a focus on crafting engaging and thrilling stories, Jensen’s writing captivates readers and keeps them coming back for more.

Previous works

In addition to the “An Alaska Untamed Mystery” series, Jensen has also written the “Barkery & Biscuits Mystery” series, the “Superstition Mysteries” series, and the “Pet Rescue Mysteries” series, among others. Her stories often involve dogs, showcasing her love for animals and her talent for weaving them into intriguing narratives.

Description of Linda O. Johnston

Linda O. Johnston is the true identity behind the pseudonym Lark O. Jensen. With a background as a lawyer, Johnston brings a unique perspective and attention to detail to her writing. Her diverse range of mystery series showcases her versatility as an author and her ability to captivate readers with her storytelling.

Writing style and themes

Jensen’s writing style is characterized by its engaging and fast-paced nature. Her ability to create tension and suspense keeps readers hooked from the first page to the last. While her stories revolve around thrilling mysteries, they often incorporate themes of love, loyalty, and the importance of human-animal connections. Jensen’s writing resonates with readers who enjoy well-crafted mysteries that offer depth and emotional resonance.

Blog Tour Schedule

For those interested in learning more about “Cry Wolf” and Lark O. Jensen, the following blog tour schedule provides an opportunity to engage with the author and gain further insights into the book:

  • November 20 – Christy’s Cozy Corners – AUTHOR GUES POST
  • November 20 – Guatemala Paula Loves to Read – REVIEW
  • November 21 – Novels Alive – REVIEW
  • November 21 – Literary Gold – AUTHOR INTERVIEW
  • November 21 – StoreyBook Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
  • November 22 – Sneaky the Library Cat’s Blog – CHARACTER INTERVIEW
  • November 22 – Island Confidential – SPOTLIGHT
  • November 22 – Sapphyria’s Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
  • November 23 – THANKSGIVING U.S.
  • November 24 – #BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee – SPOTLIGHT
  • November 24 – MJB Reviewers – SPOTLIGHT
  • November 25 – Lady Hawkeye – SPOTLIGHT
  • November 25 – Celticlady’s Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
  • November 26 – Cozy, Suspenseful, and Sweet – AUTHOR GUEST POST
  • November 26 – Brooke Blogs – CHARACTER GUEST POST
  • November 27 – Maureen’s Musings – SPOTLIGHT
  • November 27 – FUONLYKNEW – REVIEW
  • November 28 – My Reading Journeys – CHARACTER GUEST POST
  • November 28 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – REVIEW

Readers can follow the blog tour to delve deeper into the world of “Cry Wolf” and gain additional insights into the book through guest posts and interviews.

Conclusion

In conclusion, “Cry Wolf” by Lark O. Jensen is a captivating murder mystery that will enthrall wildlife and Alaska-loving cozy readers. With a well-crafted plot, engaging characters, and a suspenseful atmosphere, this book is sure to keep readers turning the pages. Jensen’s attention to detail and vivid world-building create a rich and immersive reading experience. The resolution of the mystery is satisfying, and readers will be left wanting more from this talented author. We highly recommend “Cry Wolf” for those seeking an enthralling mystery set in the untamed wilderness of Alaska.

Source: https://novelsalive.com/2023/11/21/4-star-review-cry-wolf-by-lark-o-jensen/